Yogaworks
 

Questions / answers pilates

What is Pilates?
The Pilates method consists of a varied series of exercises which can be executed on the floor or on machines. Yogaworks focuses exclusively on mat work. The exercises are designed to reinforce muscles which are weak and relax those which are overtense. The aim is to "stretch and strengthen" in order to build a more balanced and flexible body.

Pilates also develops body-mind awareness. Concentration, core muscle strengthening, precise body alignment and breathing are the basis of the technique. Very simple at the beginning, the exercises progressively become more complex and intense.

The Pilates method can be practiced as a self-standing activity, a complement to other sports or to recover from injury. Whether you are an athlete or simply willing to get back into shape, everyone can benefit from Pilates training.

" After 10 sessions you feel better,
After 20 sessions you really feel better,
After 30 sessions you have a brand new body! "
Joseph Pilates

What are the specific benefits of Pilates?
The main benefits include:

  • Improve strength, flexibility, coordination and balance
  • Tone and build long, lean muscles
  • Stabilize core by strengthening deep abdominal muscles and pelvic floor
  • Relieve tension and stress through proper breathing
  • Restore postural alignment
  • Create stronger, more flexible spine
  • Recover from strain or injury

What are the main characteristics of Pilates?

  • Concentration: Pilates is not so much about what you do, but how you do it. Rather than accomplishing monotonous and mecanical repetitions, it is about executing a limited number of movements with maximum precision and focus;

  • Efficiency: the intensity of the movements, rather than the number of repetitions, allows to optimize the results without putting any strain on the joints;

  • Centering: movements in Pilates originate from the center, i.e. the engagement of the deep abdominal muscles ("core").

 

studio yogaworks lausanne

Yogaworks
 

Questions / réponses pilates

Qu'est-ce que le Pilates?
Le Pilates est une méthode d'exercices variés, qui peuvent être exécutés au sol ou sur des machines. Les cours donnés chez Yogaworks sont uniquement du travail au sol. Ces exercices visent à renforcer les muscles trop faibles, tout en étirant et en relâchant les muscles trop tendus, afin de développer un corps harmonieux, souple et fort à la fois.

C'est également une méthode qui stimule la relation entre le corps et l'esprit. Concentration, travail sur les muscles profonds, alignement correct du corps et respiration constituent la base de la technique. Très simples au début, les exercices deviennent progressivement plus complexes et plus intenses.

La méthode Pilates peut être utilisée comme une activité en soi, comme un complément à un autre sport ou comme une méthode de rééducation : du sportif assidu au sédentaire désireux de retrouver la forme, chacun peut profiter des bienfaits de l'entraînement Pilates.

Quels sont les bienfaits spécifiques du Pilates?
Le Pilates offre un ensemble de bienfaits et de solutions pour:

  • Développer la force, la souplesse, l'équilibre et la coordination
  • Tonifier et sculpter la musculature tout en longueur et en finesse
  • Stabiliser le centre du corps en renforçant les muscles abdominaux profonds et le plancher pelvien
  • Réduire les tensions et le stress grâce à la respiration
  • Corriger et améliorer la posture
  • Développer la souplesse et la mobilité de la colonne vertébrale
  • Se remettre de certaines blessures

Quelles sont les particularités de la méthode Pilates?

  • La concentration: plutôt que d'accomplir des répétitions monotones et mécaniques, il s'agit d'exécuter un nombre limité de mouvements avec le plus de précision et de focus possibles. Ce n'est pas l'exercice qui produit un résultat, c'est la façon dont il est exécuté;
  • L'efficacité: l'intensité du chaque mouvement, plutôt que le nombre de répétitions, permet d'optimiser les résulats sans exercer d'impact sur les articulations;
  • Le centrage: le centre (i.e. les muscles abdominaux engagés dans chaque mouvement) constitue l'origine de tous les mouvements. Avant de commencer un mouvement, on active d'abord le centre.